CHANALOG – A New Way With Old Things

Genre: MUTHUHFUCKIN' CHIPTUNE/DANCE, BITCH

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

COOL! a download link!:

A New Way With Old Things by CHANALOG

Chanalog is california producer out of san diego or santa barbera, I cant remember which. He got his start playing bass and keyboards(despite being much better at guitar than the people he was playing with) for various garagebands at his school But that’s not the point. Shit goes down when he touches an 8 bit gameboy sequencer, and it’s not the kind of shit that comes out of your butthole. I would go as far to say that if all shit was this tasty, I would probably be a cocrophiliac.

All the sounds you’ve come to know and love are here(note: if you were born after about 1995, this aspect might not do that much for you) and his composition skills are at maximum. Every track(excluding the I Get Wet cover) sounds like it has been lifted from some kind of adventure game on a gameboy, and it takes me back to when I was ten years old

there I am, under the covers, playing my gameboy with a flash light. I’m sweaty, the screen is fogged up and i’ve just turned the volume up so I can barely hear. The sounds are magical, and they take me away tostrange lands.  koholint island, metroid, and pallet town are not just mere digital conversions of zeroes and ones anymore; they’re real. And while I cant hit on samus or gary’s sister yet(i havent hit puberty, besides there’s no button combo for it) it feels like anything I can do in the real world, I can do in there

but the someone rips the sheets off the bed, shattering the illusion. My eyes are ill adjusted to the light, but I know who it is.

“what time is it?”

I keep as still as I can.

“I said, what time is it”

I lean my neck past him so I can see my digital clock

“suh- seven thirty”

“I thought I fucking told you no gameboy after 6”

“im sorr-”

SMACK

the force of his hand against my face hits with such surprise I drop my gameboy onto the floor

SMACK

I see a flash of green light as my head hits the bunk bed post. My father picks up my dropped gameboy and throws it out the window of our 7th story apartment

“Dont EVER disobey me again. Now go the FUCK to sleep”

head throbbing and tears streaming down my face I wait until he’s left the room, and then I giggle and muster a smile. Jokes on him, fucker. I just ordered three more gameboys using his credit card number

Anyways where was I? Ah yes, the variety of sounds is enormous given the method of which they were produced. He makes good use of every exploitable aspect of chiptune sequencing and seemingly wanktastic passages are actually upon a closer look quite well thought out and delicious. A good example is Halloween Overdose, which I can see as a dungeon level in a castlevania game or something. On this track especially, he shows an excellent ear for tension build up and release. In fact there’s so much dissonance and “evil” intervals being made going on it sounds like a shitty attempt to make a “spooking sounding” track, trying to cash in on the mall cyber goth crowd or something. But once the release comes, it’s so gradual and well written you almost wont realize it, it just flows so naturally you will swear the release had been playing the whole time, ansd that by the second time around you are not only ok with the dissonance, but you relish it and are begging for more

he’d probably make a good rapist, that CHANALOG. Just sayin’

every one of these tracks is made with a dance pop sensibility, and if these songs got a live analog instrumentation, they would feel at home at any rave/frat party/high school dance. In fact, I want this to happen so much, I think im going to stalk and kidnap CHANALOG until he does this.

Overall, this is a well written and wonderfully listen-able album, especially for the crowd raised on the crunchy electronic low-res sounds of the game boy and the nes. The only pause I have is that the hooks and melodies are not immediately clear(at least not to a pleb like me) they are buried under countless arpeggios, 8 bit crunchy sounds, and bouncy octave passages. It took me a while to really “get” and enjoy every track(and I did end up enjoying every track) it just goes back to the whole accessibility vs. depth of content bullshit I keep talking to myself about probably. If this album had more of a sense of minimalism, I would scored it higher(maybe)

Pros: WELL WRITTEN CRUNCHY 8 BIT NINTENDO DANCE BEAT SOUNDS!? IM SUCKING SOMEONE’S DICK FOR THIS ALREADY

Cons: 2deep4me sometimes(fuck this sounds like a cop out)

Best Track: Dot Matrix Heart

The perfect mix is interesting 8 bit tones and whimsical melody, I was fuckin’ rockin to this jam from day 1

Worst Track: You not listening to this album

seriously, the quality is fairly homogeneous throughout the album, plus i totally pussied out on deciding what my least favorite track was

Grower: Halloween Overdose

for reasons I have already explained. The whole rapist innuendo and stuff

Best Andrew W.K. Cover: I Get Wet

-Love Doctor

One thought on “CHANALOG – A New Way With Old Things

Leave a Reply

